Ivan Bruneau, Julian Mischi & Nicolas Renahy – Rural France in Revolt

Link to an article by Ivan Bruneau, Julian Mischi & Nicolas Renahy:

“Rural France in Revolt”


Bonus links: ressentiment and university discourse and The Politics of Resentment: Rural Consciousness in Wisconsin and the Rise of Scott Walker and Strangers in Their Own Land: Anger and Mourning on the American Right and “For What It’s Worth: The Yellow Vests and the Left” and “A Leftist Plea for ‘Eurocentrism'”

Noam Chomsky and the Compatible Left

Link to the article:

“Noam Chomsky and the Compatible Left, Part I”

“Noam Chomsky and the Compatible Left, Part II”

“Noam Chomsky and the Compatible Left, Part III”

“Noam Chomsky and the Compatible Left, Part IV”


This is an excellent multi-part piece on the fundamental problems with Chomsky’s politics — though it does contain a few brief unsupported or otherwise perplexing statements.  See also The Idiot Pool

Pavlina Tcherneva – MMT Is Already Helping

Link to an article by Pavlina Tcherneva:

“MMT Is Already Helping”


A takedown of Henwood is a bit like shooting fish in a barrel, given that he is so weak on theory and is one of those insufferable centrist journalists posing as a leftist — much like Naomi Klein or Paul Mason.  But still, somebody had to write the takedown.  Sure, Henwood cites some true facts but the main point Tcherneva gets across is that Henwood is being exceptionally petty and obtuse by focusing on trivialities and individual personalities.  He is clearly engaging in a highly superficial smear job.

Bonus links: “Behind the Money Curtain: A Left Take on Taxes, Spending, and Modern Monetary Theory” and “‘Taxpayer Money’ Threatens Medicare-for-All (And Every Other Social Program)” and “Modern Money Green Economics for a New Era” and Modern Money Theory: A Primer on Macroeconomics for Sovereign Monetary Systems (2nd Ed.)

McKinsey & Company: Capital’s Willing Executioners

Link to an anonymous article:

“McKinsey & Company: Capital’s Willing Executioners”


Bonus links: “The Sociology of C. Wright Mills” (“As modern management becomes the reigning ethos of the age, the shift from explicit authority relationships to more subtle manipulation becomes the preferred form of power. *** The goal of manipulation is to have men internalize managerial directives without knowing that these directives are not their own motives, without recognizing that they are being victimized.”) and Critique of Cynical Reason and Making Money